Rose Croix - District of Surrey

About The Ancient & Accepted Rite

A&AR -TFv7.jpg

As the craft degrees have evolved over time, so too have the independent Orders of Freemasonry and rituals peculiar to them. Prominent among them in England and Wales is the Ancient and Accepted Rite, whose Chapters are grouped into Districts and administered by The Supreme Council 33rd Degree, whose headquarters are located at No. 10, Duke Street, St. James' London. The complete Order comprises Thirty Three Masonic Degrees, of which only the 18th Degree is worked in full in the Chapters. The first three degrees of UGLE Craft Masonry are accepted as equivalent to the first three degrees of this Order and only the Supreme Council confers the 30th, 31st, 32nd and 33rd Degrees, The remaining (intervening) Degrees are conferred by name only.

About the Rose Croix

Of the degrees beyond the Craft probably one of the most thoughtful, beautiful and respected is the 18th Degree (or ‘Knight of the Pelican and Eagle or Sovereign Prince Rose Croix’) of the Ancient and Accepted Rite, normally referred to as the Rose Croix Degree. The Degree is a Christian Degree which is open, by invitation, to any brother who has been a Master Mason for at least one full year and who professes the Trinitarian Christian faith.

The ceremony requires thoughtful consideration and a Christian understanding as it is a mason's self-awareness and Christian faith which are key to his participation – especially as the Order amplifies the teachings of Craft Masonry within a Christian context.

Being a progressive Order, it is the aspiration, (but not a requirement), of most members to attain the Chair of the Chapter as Most Wise Sovereign.

The District of Surrey is ruled by an Inspector General, assisted by the District Recorder and comprises of 17 Rose Croix Chapters. These Chapters are not generally large in number, the emphasis being on members who will maintain the bonds of harmony, enjoyment, friendliness and warmth of the Order.

Chapters meet between two and three times a year, mostly during the week, but a few meet on Saturday mornings. The start time is usually around 17:00 hrs during the week and 10:45hrs on Saturday mornings. The meetings usually last for approximately 1½ to 2 hours depending on what business is being carried out, and there is always a festive board afterwards to enjoy.

The Ceremony

The first three degrees are deemed to be equivalent to the first three degrees of Craft masonry.  The intermediate degrees from the 4th to the 17th Degree (Knight of the East and West) are conferred on a candidate by name, just before taking the ceremony of the 18th Degree. The ceremony of the 18th Degree, seeks his Perfection and service in the Christian virtues in Faith, Hope and Charity.

It is an immensely thought provoking, impressive and beautiful ceremony which instils a warmth and understanding of brotherly love and of service, on which, of course, the whole Masonic institution is founded.

That this 18th Degree is special, is not in any doubt, to those on whom it has been conferred.

Rose Croix, like Freemasonry as a whole, is not a religion, nor is it a substitute for religion, it does, however, serve to point the way and it is this which makes Rose Croix so Masonically important, encompassing all we seek, while assisting us to understand the Trinitarian Christian Faith.

Why participate?

If you have a desire for further advancement in Masonic knowledge, understanding and friendship, the Order of the 'Rose Croix' will not only offer those rewards, but will extend your commitment to the principles of Freemasonry while encouraging your progress and practice in those Christian virtues of Faith, of Hope and of Charity.

If you would like further information or wish to participate, please contact the District Recorder or use the Contact Form on this website to inform of us of your interest.